Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apologies in advance if this is an obvious issue, but I'm not too good at troubleshooting and I don't know much about wrenching. So I noticed when I first got my car that at idle it would smoke a little bit. Not a lot just a very small amount and I thought this was due to having a large cam. Well a couple fridays ago I decided to go to a local meet and noticed when I went to leave that my car was throwing way more smoke than usual at idle. I was watching the rearview all the way home and there was no smoke while driving, only at a stop. I am worried that this may turn into a problem. Any ideas as to why its doing this? Sorry if this seems too vague, if you need more info about the car just let me know. Thanks.

-Keegan

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I read up on that and it sure seems like that is the problem. Gonna have to pull the valve covers off and see whats goin on. Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
545 Posts
Check your coolant and oil levels carefully and that will help determine what it is as well.

·
Registered
377 Posts
I'm confused. I thought you said white smoke? You gotta get an idea of if it's white smoke, black smoke, or blue smoke. It's sort of like a choose your own adventure at that point in troubleshooting. White - water, blue - oil, black -gas, etc.
What he said, White is coolant /water.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I'm confused. I thought you said white smoke? You gotta get an idea of if it's white smoke, black smoke, or blue smoke. It's sort of like a choose your own adventure at that point in troubleshooting. White - water, blue - oil, black -gas, etc.