Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not trying to poke the bear here:poke:! Let me start off by saying, I've been doing my fair share of research and utilizing the amazing search feature. There is a plethora of information available to us lucky members who don't mind a little reading:eek:! I'm sure this topic has been beaten to death for a lot of us on here :horse: but I'm a phone call away from dropping some good change and don't know which product to go with:call:. I'm an engine and body man by trade so chassis/suspension isn't exactly my forte. I've yet to see a thread compare (apologies to our moderators if there is) the Chassisworks and Smith Racecraft front ends along with the DSE and RS Front Ends. Price not being a huge factor. What would you guys choose? Bear in mind, I am primarily looking for protouring with a twin turbo'd ls '65 pushing 1000hp, open to 4link or torque arm in the rear. I plan to let it loose on some autocross tracks and still enjoy driving it home on the streets as well as performing well enough at the drags. I've heard guys say the Smith isn't very streetble, CA and DSE isn't ideal drag/street, and i just now learned a RS bolt on clip existed. Anyhow, I realize you can't always have your cake and eat it too but for nice chunks of change there's gotta be something!? Any weigh ins?:ragtop:

·
Registered
191 Posts
I have a Smith Racecraft, but it's primarily going to be used at the track. The car has become a bit of a project so is still not 100% complete. I haven't run it yet, but it seems to be a really nice piece of work.

It was easy to install, is a lot lighter than the factory front end, and has tons of travel. Lot of room for any type of oil pan.

In terms of streetability, the steering radius is greatly reduced over stock, and there are no inner fenders.