Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, good folks.

I have a '68 Nova, 2-door coupe, and the other day I went to get it checked on the Dyno. A couple of minutes into the test, the guy who did the test refused to continue, due to vibrations from the drive shaft/propeller shaft. He said I should immidiately should take it off and send it to the local shop for balancing.

My plan was to do just that, but then I started asking around. Short story; the previous owner of the car changed the transmission, from automatic to a 4-speed manual. Due to this change, he had to weld on around 2.8 inches to the existing drive shaft. The welding is done in the front (next to the transmission). In addition, the front yoke and the rear yoke are not "lined up" to each other. Is looks like their off sync. I am no expert, but I would think that this is not helping the vibration around 50-60 mph. Anther friend of mine said I also should check the drive shaft angles, to check if they are "within" the limits. On the transmisision, on the drive shaft itself and on the rear end/axle. He said that is these angles are off, there is no point buying a new, cause I will just end of with the same problems.

Finally to my main questions:

1) Is there any point in sending the existing drive shaft to the local shop for balancing? Since it is old and has "homemade" welding done to it...? Mind you, the local shop is 7 hours by car away from where I live, so I can't just run by after work to get it checked.. We're talking weeks of waiting.

2) If I decide to get a new one, what's a good place to buy? I am thinking of an online shop, of course.. (since I live in Norway). A new one in Norway costs around 633 dollars... (estimate I was given).