Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I picked up this 73 and it needs so much I don't even know wher to start. I've never taken on a project of this caliber, so I'll need some guidance, tips, advice, etc. What I'm aiming to do is have a nice street/strip car. Leaning more toward street with weekend runs down the at the track. Like I said, this is my first project like this. I don't want to Let someone else build it for me. I want the satisfaction of doing it myself. No timeline, no budget set. Just plan on taking my time and dealing with money as I come to it.

Thanks. and let me know what you think.

·
Premium Member
2,246 Posts
73 project...

First step would be to evaluate the structural integrity of the body and frame...everything you will do starts from that foundation. I notice the car has a rollbar/cage setup...do you plan to keep that or eliminate?? for a street car with occasional track time...it realy won't help.

Next, try to plan what parts you need for the driveline..engine, trans, rear. Knowing what kind of engine and power level will help in choosing suspension, cooling and exhaust system components. You can do this planning while you are working on the body.

Do you have an interior for the car..?? It may not seem like a big item, but re-creating a complete interior from scratch is time consuming and expensive.

These thoughts should get you started....others will chime in with more words of wisdom.

Good luck...wilma

·
Premium Member
4,072 Posts
First step would be to evaluate the structural integrity of the body and frame...everything you will do starts from that foundation. I notice the car has a rollbar/cage setup...do you plan to keep that or eliminate?? for a street car with occasional track time...it realy won't help.