Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Poking through the wiring diagram and wiring harness for my '74, I've come up with several questions.

Background info: I'm removing the Gen 1 engine and tranny, and substituting in an LS2 / 4L60E, so questions are pertinent to what I should keep, what I should remove, and what can be used in a different way. I'm pretty good with AC (housing) electricity, but I have little knowledge of DC.

Once I get all this figured out, I may try to post an entire guide to the underhood wiring, pictures and all.

1) The "idle stop solenoid" seems like it's only useful for a carburetor. Can I ditch that wire all the way back to the firewall?

2) Related to first question: The feed wire for the idle stop solenoid looks like it's just an ignition-on power feed. Is this true? If so, could it be useful for something in my engine swap or other future accessory?

3) Kind of related to first question: There is another wire on the same feed as the idle stop solenoid that goes to the positive side of the coil, and then makes its merry way over to the starter. What does this translate to in the LSx world? Is this also just an ignition-on power feed? Should it go to the positive on all the LS2 coils, and to the starter? If it goes to the starter, which pole?

4) What are the three wires on the Gen 1 starter? They are A) black/red - this one is obvious - it's the feed from the battery and the positive supply to the rest of the system, B) purple - looks like a power feed to the rest of the electrical system. If so, why? You would think you would feed power directly from the red wire coming off the starter. Why two power feeds?, and C) yellow. Why do you need three wires?

5) There is a dark blue wire that goes to something called a "pressure switch". What does the pressure switch do?