Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,858 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to figure out why the horn has never worked since I've had the car. Need it to work to pass inspection. Ran a jumper wire from pos bat terminal to horn. Works fine. The green wire from the horn goes into the bottom of the relay. While looking at this wire - I found the big black wire from the screw on the left of the 1st pic goes into the dead space in the fender well and is terminated with black tape. :eek: What was this wire for? Why is it hooked to the horn relay but not to anything else? Here are pics: 1st one is the relay, 2nd one is the wire I'm talking about, and 3rd one is my alternator just so you know what it is. I'm not good with this stuff - and I need to figure out how to get the horn to work.....:confused::confused::confused:

·
Premium Member
663 Posts
This is for my 67 Nova. Other models should be similar. An electrical drawing of your's would be good.

The 2 screw terminals on the relay should each have 12VDC on them all the time. One of them goes to the coil in the relay, the other goes to the internal switch that gets pulled in to supply voltage to the horns.

One of the spade lugs should have a green wire going to it for the horns. The other spade lug should have a black wire to it coming from your horn button contact in the steering wheel.

When the black wire goes to ground, the coil energizes, closing the switch to supply 12V to the horns making them blow.:yes:

·
Premium Member
5,858 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
On this one the green wire plugs in the bottom of the relay.....I don't really know how to check it to see whats hot and whats not...:confused:

·
Premium Member
663 Posts