Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Once the car is down to bare metal, what should it be protected with? I've read a lot that say's you should put a good epoxy pimer on it, such as Dp 90. And then I've read to just use a good etching primer, or regular primer. Mine will be stripped in about a week, but it will be 2-3 months before it goes to the body shop for painting.
Lot's of conflicting info out there.

·
Premium Member
11,208 Posts
I'm not an expert but I can tell you what I did and do with my stuff. I use acid etch and wipe the bare metal areas with that. Then I prime it with a 2 part primer. My Camaro took over 2 yrs to complete and it never rusted through and I painted it 8 yrs ago and it still looks great with no problems. While I reprimer it several times during construction the base primer has held up. Maybe some experts will reply and offer professional advice. RM

·
Registered
624 Posts
Either one will work fine, but you may want to ask the body shop which one they prefer. It is a good idea to use the same brand of paint they will be using as well.

·
Registered
890 Posts
I could be wrong however for long term protection use epoxy primer.For short term you can get away with etching primer.I beleive the etching primer is porous so you may still get some light rusting if you wait too long.As novanut said check with the shop doing the work to save them some headaches and maybe you some money.:D

·
Registered
334 Posts
Talk to the shop first and find out what brand of paint they'll be using, and see what they suggest (could'nt hurt) my suggestion would be to spray the car with epoxy to seal the bare metal ,then spray 2 coats of 2k high build primer over that within 24 hours of spraying the epoxy. Now, leave it alone