Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my first build ever. I have my engine (mild 350 used from ebay) running, and I've installed new gauges. Now that I have gauges I'm wondering what the gauges should read?

I'm looking all over for good rule of thumb for engine temperature and oil pressure. My sensor is mounted in the passenger cylinder head. I've seen some threads say 210 is fine coolant temp in traffic, but no higher? Is that optimum? At what temperature should I start to worry about damage? I don't have a shroud yet, and my temp went up to 235 sitting in the garage in 50deg outside air temp.

How about oil pressure? I've heard 10psi for every 1000 rpm, is that true? What if I don't have a tach? What is optimum oil pressure, what are the limits high and low before engine damage?

It has taken a lot of work to get to this point and I don't want to ruin my engine, I'm really nervous to run the car without knowing the above answers, please help.

·
Registered
3,588 Posts
The optimum temp would be what ever your thermostat is rated up to plus 5 or 10 degrees. More than that, and your cooling system isn't functioning to the max. The only other variable is to where your sensor is mounted, intake or head. That can change the parameters some what.

Oil pressure...your thought is correct as it stands, but 10-40 range is "Normal" with the engine up to temp.
Every engine config is slightly different, and every oil type (viscosity) will change the pressures, but if you are with-in these figures you're fine. ;)

·
Premium Member
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Maxturbo said:
The optimum temp would be what ever your thermostat is rated up to plus 5 or 10 degrees. More than that, and your cooling system isn't functioning to the max. The only other variable is to where your sensor is mounted, intake or head, That can change the parameters some what.