Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I took the plunge. I bought a Lincold 140HD Weld-pak from a local guy (brand new) yesterday. I've been messing with it in my garage, and I have to say I like it. I've never welded before, but it doesn't seem too hard.

I bought that and a 4 1/2" Makita angle grinder. I will be using these to mini-tub my car. Next purchase will be the Detroit Speed mini-tubs, or if anybody can recommend something cheaper, that would be great.

I have a few questions though. Welding the tubs in, I will only be tacking them in, not laying a bead, correct? I don't think it would take a whole lot of skill to tack something in, but then again, I am not experienced in this area at all. Does anybody have an example they can show me of how exactly to tack them in, and what it should look like?

Second, what would be better, flux-cored or using gas? I won't be welding too often, and if I can get by using flux core, that would be great. If not, how much am I looking at for a bottle of Argon/CO2? How long will it last? What is the main difference between that and flux-core besides the obvious?

Thanks for helping a newbie at welding.

·
Registered
3,601 Posts
I would tack them then go back and fully weld them one small section at a time to avoid building too much heat. Flux core will spatter more than useing gas.
I can't stress enough the importance of clean steel for a good weld. Grind the paint back 1/2" from where you are going to weld, both sides. Get some pieces of steel the same gauge as your tubs and what you're welding on to practice and get the machine set up.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Welding the tubs in, I will only be tacking them in, not laying a bead, correct?