Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. Installing new half floor pans in my 71 Nova. Have the old one cut out and ready to cut new floor and weld it in place. Any tips or advise greatly appreciated. Borrowed a wire feed welder and spent $ and time getting ready and then the owner wanted it back. Dang nabbit would like to choke that rabbit. So I need to by a welder to do my floors. Please let me know your recommendations on what to buy. Please be specific on type make and model. I am a complete novice when it comes to welding but damed determined to get it done. Thank you.
20200813_101236.jpg
20200813_101204.jpg

·
Registered
1973 Custom hatchback
1,028 Posts

120 volts
I'm happy with mine. BUT its my only experience. You need to find a place to get some gas to go with the solid wire, which I think is well worth it. I do wish the leads were a few feet longer.

·
Registered
1,243 Posts
Using gas with any Mig will give you better welds. But you can go gas less with the flux core wire. But you will have some splatter and Not so clean looking welds, but a wire brush will clean up most of that.

·
Registered
200 Posts
A few years ago I bought my first new welder and as most of us I cant afford the high dollar Miller or other name brands.

So I bought a multiprocess Vulcan from harborfreight after seeing alot of reviews. Well, I love my machine and welders I know say it welds great. It's easy to use and definitely run gas over flux core. Now I realize I dont need a multiprocess machine and a dedicated mig 110v mig welder for car sheet metal is all I needed.

So, I would say a 110v mig welder around 140 ramps will be fine. Harborfreight has vulcan brand as well as 2 others that are cheaper than the vulcan. Review the heck out of them and pick your poison.