Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just placed an order for the 142 blower for a basically stock 350 that's in my 68 nova. 411 eaton posi, 700r4 animal trans. My question (for now) lies with the carb. I bought a Holley street demon about a year or two ago and it's basically new. It's the 625. Is there any way this carb would work? I've read both yes (bc it's above the pressure) and no. Holley said they would change it but wouldn't say exactly why and jegs tells me that I can use it and it will work just fine. Haha. So I've returned here to see what the expert think? Tia fellas

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
I'm not a expert but I'll throw in my .02 cents. The 625 cfm carburetor will work but it's probably too small to be optimal. A lot will depend on the heads/ camshaft/fuel system that you are running. When you start forcing air into the engine it is going to take more fuel to keep it from leaning out. If you keep the small carburetor be careful when you start running it with the blower. You don't want to run the engine lean. To really know ask yourself this question. If you had a 500 cubic inch engine would you put the 625 CFM carburetor on it. In reality the 142 blower displaces 142 cubic inches. It makes your 350 engine think it's roughly 500 cubic inches. I would go with at least a good 750 with a milled top. If you have camshaft/heads you could probably go bigger. Just as a added note. Blower cars really like different grinds on the camshaft. When everything is put in the right place the feel of boost is very addictive.

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
I ran an old 700 double pumper on my 355 with a 144 B&M blower for years with no issues. Nothing special done to it.

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #4