Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone!

So at the end of last season, I dropped a valve and decided to build a new motor for my '74 (it was a mild 355). I intend on using it as a weekend warrior, taking it to the track when its finished.

I've never built a motor (its been on my bucket list since I was 8) and I'm a relative newb when it comes to working on my car, but I've been doing research for ages and decided this was a good excuse to get moving. I just seem to have a ton of questions.

I got lucky and scored a pretty clean 4 bolt main 350 (Casting No. 14010207) and a cool 70's turbo kit for a carbed SBC for $500 from a buddy who had it just lying around. I've already torn it down and degreased it. Now I have to find an affordable machine shop in Ottawa to take it to.

Now, I know I want to go stroker (my plan was originally to build a high compression N/A motor) and have found a few rotating assemblies that sound good. I also know I want it forged, but since finding this turbo kit, I've become really interested in using it, but as I said I'm pretty new to all this...

This is the kit I've been looking at:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.jegs.com/i/Scat/942/1-40760BI/10002/-1?parentProductId=#moreDetails

Scat #942-1-40760BI
4340 Forged Rotating Assembly
383ci
Pistons: Flat
Bore: 4.030"
Stroke: 3.750"
H-Beam Rod: 6.000"

Compression Ratios
58cc cylinder heads: 11.8
64cc cylinder heads: 11.0
70cc cylinder heads: 10.3
-------------------------------------------------------------------------