Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4,760 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this is my first time rebuilding a th350 i was wondering what kinda trans fluid to use while assembling my trans. i will be using this for street/strip use its going to be a total rebuild all the internals look real good the bushing are still copper looking the only part that was bad was the 1-2 acumulator spring it was broken in three different spots any help with my rebuild would be much apprecaited ive never done this before im using the "hp how to build a th350" book. i am going to install red alto clutches a kolene steels as well as a kevlar band i will also be puting in a better sprag/drum and a manual valve body any advice :yes:

·
Premium Member
2,313 Posts
Hey Jim...since no one posted a reply, I'll chime in...

I run Mike Stewart's ATF blend in both of my race transmissions (Ultimate Glide and a clutch-TH400). It's the best trans fluid I've used - and I've used all kinds - for my race cars. Let me know if you need/want to try some.

·
Registered
438 Posts
It's been quite awhile since I took a transmissions class in college so I very well could be wrong here but this is what I seem to remember.

Type F fluid is good a grabbing but bad at holding.
Dexron is bad at grabbing but good at holding.

Ford transmissions using Type F fluid have smaller clutch packs than their Dexron using brethren but have more friction plates and steel plates per clutch pack. The smaller clutch pack doesn't grab as well but since it has more frictions and steels it holds better. The Type F fluid makes up for the lack of initial grabbing ability.

The Dexron transmissions (ie. th350 and th400) have larger clutch packs. This makes its initial "grab" work great but since it has fewer friction plates and steel plates per clutch pack it doesn't hold them together as well. The Dexron and its great "holding" properties makes up for it.