Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an opertunity to buy a new class II hitch for my van at a very reasonable price($45). The tow rate on the van is sufficiant for pulling the car/trailer but after looking at some hitches I noticed the rate for a class II hitch is 3500lb. The car is a stripped down 4th gen Nova w/no wipers, heater, carpet, headliner, door panels, seats......... Could I get away with using the class II hitch? Im not experienced at towing so I would appriciate the input.

·
Premium Member
3,758 Posts
What Fatcat said. I would not put my car on a hitch/trailer that "Just Makes It" :eek: Is saving even 100 bucks worth you Ride or you safty???:beat: JMO;)

·
Registered
128 Posts
I actually run a truck accessory store, and I agree, it would be worth stepping up to a class III. One other thing, a class II hitch only accepts a 1 1/2" insert, which are WAY weaker than the 2" insert a class III uses. But, a good set of distribution bars will definitely help out.

·
3,863 Posts
That rating is the towing capacity for the hitch. That includes car, trailer and anything else loaded on the trailer. I don't think there is enough capacity on a Class II for a car trailer.

·
Registered
475 Posts
Be careful about the tow capacity for the van too..my truck is rated high enough that I COULD tow a car on a trailer but I wouldnt want to. I have towed cars with trucks that have a greater towing capacity than my truck does and it was scary at times so I certainly wouldnt try it in my truck.

·
Premium Member
3,758 Posts
Well if you had an F350 SD CC 4X4 With a PowerStroke. You wouldn't have those problems!:eek: :rolleyes: :D

Flame suit ON!

Denis

·
Registered
475 Posts
DrDenny's 69 Rat said:
Well if you had an F350 SD CC 4X4 With a PowerStroke. You wouldn't have those problems!:eek: :rolleyes: :D

Flame suit ON!

Denis
A truck like that would cost more than one of the houses I own cost me.:D