Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m a novice when it comes to timing but I’ve been doing a lot of reading and research on the subject. I bought a timing light because I’ve been curious and also have had idle issues and stumbling/bogging trying to drive at an idle. Today I hooked up my timing light and fired up the engine. I initially left the vacuum advance hooked up and it showed 12 degree advance at idle and 36 degree under load. I was under the impression that this should roughly be what the advance is with the vacuum disconnected. So I disconnected the vacuum and my advance dropped to 2 degrees and full advance was around 24. Ran like crap. Can my timing really be off this much and is this why it’s running poorly at times? This engine had a complete overhaul last fall so I didn’t expect to have any issues. Also, the cam is 218/226 @.05 with .48/.48 lift, 108 LSA. Not wild but kind of choppy.

·
Registered
66 Chevy II, Pontiac powered; 68 &75 Firebirds
431 Posts
Initial and total advance should be adjusted with the distributor vacuum advance disconnected. Some engines work well with vacuum advance connected to a full manifold source, others from a ported source. The only difference is that a ported source provides no advance at idle, but the advance starts as soon as the throttle plates open. Manifold vacuum provides advance even at idle. That is your case.
Your relatively mild cam is a bit lumpy because of the overlap from the 108° LSA.

·
Registered
547 Posts
Can my timing really be off this much?
Sounds like it is if you checked it and it's at 2 degrees adv. Most of these rigs want more like 16 deg initial advanced with a total at 36ish without vac advance, total of 50ish with the vac. back off the adjustable vacuum if it's lurchy or pinging. That's a pretty standard tuning for SBC with a bigger cam.

·
Premium Member
2,106 Posts