Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!, i'm very new on this, actually this is my first thread!, and i'm new to cars recons. too! the thing is like this, i bought a 307- 1972 nova in a very good shape, and found a corvette 350 engine to make the swap...where do i have to pay extra attention? it fits with out any major changes??...thanks a lot to ALL for your help!!

·
Premium Member
8,405 Posts
The engine will bolt in, but you may need to swap some parts off your old engine. Is it an L82 (finned aluminum valve covers) or is it an L48 engine (blue valve covers)?
The L48 is the essentially the same engine as in a Caprice, and in California it only made 175 hp @4000 rpm. I hope you didn't pay extra for the "Corvette" sales tool.

·
Registered
4,612 Posts
i saw

a forged crank the other day that was took out of a 73-74 vette. It had the crappy 882 heads n stuff , but the crank is forged. Is this typical ???

·
Premium Member
8,405 Posts
The 73-74 Corvette L82 had a forged crank and 4 bolt mains but didn't come with the small valve "882" heads. The 1973 175 Hp and 1974 195 Hp base 350 had casting # 33382 heads in the 74-75 Corvette but it also had a cast crank and 2 bolt mains.

If it had 4 bolt mains and a forged crank, it could have been a truck engine that had replaced the original L48 or was an L82 with heads that had been replaced.

1978 L82 heads should be casting # 462624 and have 2.02" intake valves.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
307 to 350 swap

ok it's a L82 with heads replaced...but..!....they sold it yesterday...went to the shop...and well...best luck next time!! :eek:....any way...still searching!! for the 350...any recomendations ...what you think my friend??
tks a lot...

·
Premium Member
8,405 Posts
I think you actually lucked out. That "Corvette" engine wasn't what you thought it was and I'm guessing there were some more "little white lies of omission" about it.