Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, after finding more damage than I thought there would be in a couple of spots (see below) I've decided to strip the car down to bare metal. I'm trying to save some money on media blasting so I'll strip as much as I can using chemical stripping and a da sander and have the rest cleaned up at the blasters. I'm new to this so wanted to ask the experts....what should the metal look like when sanded down? When I get past the primer on the car there are still some specs in the metal. Is this rust and do I have to keep sanding until this is gone? I'll post a pic below so you can see what I'm talking about. Any help is appreciated.

Doh!

Here's what I'm asking about regarding sanding to bare metal...

Closer

·
Premium Member
52 Posts
Couple things, if you use chemical stripping it helps to scor the surface, we use 36 grit on a da (do not sand to metal) just quickly go over the surface with very little pressure to get sanding lines in the paint, it will help the stripper get under the paint. The bottom pic you have is deffinately rust pitting, the best method it to media blast to remove, walnut shell media works well, or you could use rust mort to neutralize the rust but be sure and follow instructions and remove surrounding residue before coating over. Goodluck :devil:

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmmm... they guys I talked to about having the car media blased said that they use plastic media on the body panels, to avoid warpage, but that it would not remove rust. On the window channels and undercarriage/engine bay they use either glass or sand (don't remember) and that would remove any rust. On the body panels I was told I would have to da sand everything afterwards to remove any rust present which I guess is what I have.