Chevy Nova Forum banner
1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
im starting a 63 nova drag car and i want to know how much tub chassis are and if i should go with a tub chassis or a mustang 2 and back halfed nova ? also is it hard to install a back half kit or a 4 link rear end. im 17 so i dont have alot of money so i need the most economical ways to go NEED HELP thanks

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well my goal et is between 10 and 12 and im not sure wat class, im brand new to drag racing and i really want top start so all the information you got will help me lol, but ideally i want to run like 10.50

·
Registered
31 Posts
I have a 72 nova with caltracs and no minitub and i run 10.30 all day long....The cheap way to go..I would put the money in the drivetrain , engine ,trans ,rear .....My 2 cents :)

·
Premium Member
2,313 Posts
well my goal et is between 10 and 12 and im not sure wat class, im brand new to drag racing and i really want top start so all the information you got will help me lol, but ideally i want to run like 10.50
Then you really don't need to cut up your car and spend the money on sub-frames/back half components. I would invest in the drive train and appropriate safety equipment and components.

·
Registered
595 Posts
I think the first question I would have is. What do you have to start with? I know what it is like to be young and build race cars, I am 23 now, was 14-15 when I picked up my Nova and have been doing this ever since. Is the car in good shape? What engine parts do you have etc?

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I have a 72 nova with caltracs and no minitub and i run 10.30 all day long....The cheap way to go..I would put the money in the drivetrain , engine ,trans ,rear .....My 2 cents :)
ok thats reassuring so wat do u think i should do to the drivetrain

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·