Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to set up my 12-bolt with a new set of gears. It is my first time doing it, and have got all the tools necessary for the job. How much pinion shims should I start with. The gear ration is 4.10-1. The Richmond installation guide says that .035 will be the right thickness to start with if you don’t have any old shims, which I don’t. I if you compare the default pinion shims info that Richmond says to article I found on Hotrod magazine http://hotrod.com/techarticles/84118/ I don’t get the numbers right if you look at the chart in the middle of the page. If 4.10 should be in the middle of 4.56 and 3.73 .035 must be to much. .030 makes more sense if you look at the Hotrod chart. The best thing must be to have some sort of chance to get it right the first time I pressing the bearing to the pinion. Does anyone has idea what pinion shims to start with? Maybe a more complete chart. Does anyone have some links to other pages/articles on the net?

Kalle

·
Registered
298 Posts
.035 would be a good place to start. But to get it right the first time get a pinion depth gauge and it will give you the exact masurments.

there is no exact measurement a chart will give you because every housing is different.

hope this help

·
3,863 Posts
I removed and pressed my pinion bearing on four times getting the shim stack right and I started with my original shims. To get it right on the first try is just plain lucky. By the fourth time I was getting pretty fast at removing and reinstalling the pinion gear though.

·
Registered
298 Posts
use a old lower pinion bearing, take a die grinder to the inside of it so it will slip on and off the pinion, use as a test bearing tell you get the right shim thickness

dont install the crush sleeve until you have the right shim thickness

·
Registered
55 Posts