Chevy Nova Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I am new to the Nova scene and to this forum. My '69 has surface rust in the trunk pans, nothing major to the point its eating through the pans but just surface rust, and I want to refinish them. Do I need to sand off the rust first before painting or should I just paint over it?

My plan is to paint the pans with rustoleum spray paint, put down sound deadener, then carpet, and eventually box it in.

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply but I have never heard of that POR15 before. Researching on their site it seems like a pretty intense process with the degreasing/cleaning solution, the metal prep solution, and then painting on the POR itself which I guess you have to apply with a paint brush. Will the Rustoleum spray paint not protect the pans as well?

·
Premium Member
1,695 Posts
I myself used the por-15 and yes u use a paint brush. A quart of this stuff is 40bucks and it did all 4 of my floor pans top and bottom 2 coats on everything as well as my package tray and area's in my trunk. I dont ever want to see rust again in those areas again especially since i had to cut my floor pans out and replace them myself so i went all out i suppose.

I think either way you need to at least use a wire wheel to break up the surface rust and then clean and degrease the trunk pan before you do any painting. I cant stand by rustoluem as that I've never used it on my car in rusted areas but i can tell you that the por-15 is probably one of the best products you can use for rust neutralization and prevention and is widely used be fellow members on this site. It goes on smooth and level and is paintable. Just my 2cents though.

Here's what it looks like when applied...

http://www.stevesnovasite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=79137&highlight=floor+pans

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·