Chevy Nova Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have an odd thing going on with my 72. (383 stroker 700R4) Every time I take the car out, the temperature initially climbs to 220 + for not even 30 seconds and then cools down over the next 5 minutes or so and then settles in around 185 / 195, it will then run around 190 forever or until I shut the car off and it cools completely. I have a Robert Shaw 180 degree thermostat (which I tested in a pot of hot water, it does open @ 180) , factory fan shroud, factory radiator, 7 blade clutch fan, Auto meter water temp gauge. I have burped the system with the funnel kit 2x and have an overflow tank, the car does dump some antifreeze in and out of the overflow tank every time I drive it.

Any idea why the thing spikes so high initially? Is this something I need to be concerned about ? I have researched this online a ton, but I just can't find anyone who is experiencing the same type of scenario. I'm new on Steves Nova ( been lurking for years ) so I think this may be where I can get some solid advice.

My one car buddy says to not worry about it, just not sure.

Thanks in advance - Jay.

·
Premium Member
3,086 Posts
Also, where is your temp sending unit? Intake manifold or in the head? Just curious... Manifold would lead me to believe the thing needs better burping and the bypass hole in the thermostat @Mike Goble stated is key to removing all air and keeping a slight flow for removing all the remaining air over time. As @Shane65 mentioned, you need to rev the engine to flow the water to catch the air. Just idling it will not work. Clutch fan engaging properly? Have you watched/listened to it during the initial warm-up?

·
Registered
66 Chevy II, 871 blown 355
251 Posts
I have done allot of studies on cooling my 66 over the years as I have a 871 blown 355 in it and had always had issues controlling it.