Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm going to look at an 8.5 rear soon to replace my 7.5. Seller says it's a peg leg. However, I'm new to this part of the car and not sure that to look for other than the code on the axle tube.

I heard there the ring gear is stamped. Is there an easy way of telling the ratio of the rear by the stamp? Otherwise, is there a way by counting the pinion teeth and/or the ring teeth?

What wear items should I look for? Any tricks to perform to check for excessive wear, play or damage? Thanks.

·
Registered
347 Posts
count ring teeth, then pinion, and divide. Simple.
I have seen where some were stamped. Not sure who/ what and why but, I have seen some, could've been aftermarket for all I know.

I've only built 2 rear's, and that's not near enough to say I'm out of the boat you're in. I'm still there, still learning.

GL on that. I'm planning on mine atm. I have an 8.5 with 4.56 GM Posi unit. But it's got surface rust all in it and has to be cleaned... well.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Ohh, as far as the wear goes, check the ring teeth. See where the wear pattern is. I believe the center the better? You can google it, and see where a lot of folks have posted pics of a good and bad wear pattern.

·
Premium Member
8,405 Posts
I don't want to state the obvious but make sure it has leaf spring perches. We had one poster who bought a coil spring ten bolt without realizing it wouldn't bolt in. Make sure it's not a 2nd gen Camaro rear. Those are too wide. Bring a tape measure when you go look at it.

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I don't want to state the obvious but make sure it has leaf spring perches. We had one poster who bought a coil spring ten bolt without realizing it wouldn't bolt in. Make sure it's not a 2nd gen Camaro rear. Those are too wide. Bring a tape measure when you go look at it.