Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for ideas....Just bought the Nova and it is a project car barely started by the previous owner. The rear end is a narrowed 9" with a ladder bar kit. There is nothing else done to the rear. No shocks!

The question:

What shocks do I install? The ladder bars interfere with the
mounting holes on the brackets on the leaf spring mounts. I want to race the car but want it to be street legal as well so it needs to be able to drive to cruise night etc.

I am brand new to this so any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
a pair of coil overs would be very streetable & solve your problems

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
All right, no pics yet, sorry guys. Just set up the photobucket site. I told you I was new at this, right?

Anyway, the ladder bars look like antiques...no rod ends, square type bars, looks real old, or real cheap. So...I want to strip/street this thing. Ultimate goal is high 9s? Should I just go back to a street set up with spilt monos and caltracs? Or should I back half the car with a 4 link and coil overs? Or should I stick with these ladder bars, or better yet get real ladder bars and put in the coil overs? I also heard some guys running with ladder bars and leaf springs with floaters? Not sure too much on that one.

I think this car will be a street car class so if I don't go with leaf springs am I making a big mistake and putting myself out of certain classes?

By the way, the leaf springs have been moved in board and the inside of the front of the springs seem to be supported by the ladder bar suport that goes across the front. The back of the leaf springs seam to be spoorted from the outside only.

I don't want anything more than a 10.5 tire.

What would you all do in my case? I promise to figure out this picture thing pretty quick.

·
Registered
2,146 Posts