Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks in advance for any assistance. I'm completely new to any kind of automotive work aside from swapping out the occasional part on my old '94 Ranger. I've never done any kind of transmission work so forgive me if my terminology is off.

I'm swapping out a broken shifter for a hurst and new rods on an M21 Muncie in a '70 Nova. The only reason I feel even slightly confident doing this is because I found a fantastic video on youtube I'll link below. In the video the guy said it's good to put a plug in the unused (shifter mounting?) holes because sometimes they punch through and can be a source of leaks. I pulled the old shifter and plate off the transmission and found six threaded holes with no plugs. My question is what kind of plugs do I need? I called Advance hoping this was a universal thing, but he said I'd need to know the size and thread. I see no signs of leaking, but this was a new build when I bought it so it hasn't seen much road time in its current configuration.

I've googled "m21 transmission plugs", but I only get info on drain plugs.

This has ground me to a halt, but I'm hoping I can find out before I leave work so I can grab some on the way home.

Thanks

https://youtu.be/yaQwPQTenMg

·
Registered
301 Posts
If they aren't leaking, I wouldn't bother plugging them. If you feel you must, they are a standard thread size, I believe 3/8-16. Just take one of the old shifter plate bolts with you to the hardware store and buy some plugs with the same thread. The plugs will have an allen head. You can use rtv or blue threadlock or some other type thread sealant. I would avoid red thread lock since you don't want them permanently installed.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. I didn't even think of using the old bolts.

I'll seal them because I'm that guy. 100% the guy that if I don't seal them they will leak.

Thanks again.

·
Registered
149 Posts