Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
998 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to replace my quarters in the very near future. I've never done this before but I have have done the floors in my 67 Camaro, so I'm sure I can do this. I'm going to buy the skins from a local place in Omaha for $91.00 a side. My big concern is the outer wheel house. No one is making these and lips on mine on both sides are pretty much gone, so there is nothing to weld to. What have you guys done to tackle this problem?

·
Registered
624 Posts
I had the same problem. I cut and shaped lots of small patches for the lip of the wheel houses. It was a lot easier to make lots of little patches than one large one. It still took me a lot of time. If I had it to do over again, I probably would have bought outer wheelhouses for a 74 (I think they're available) and cut the patches out of them. They aren't the same as 75-79's but they would probably be close enough (with a little finessing) to cut patches out of. Other than that, your only other option would be wheelhouses from a donor car or NOS if you could find them.

·
Registered
998 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
NOVANUT77 said:
If I had it to do over again, I probably would have bought outer wheelhouses for a 74 (I think they're available) and cut the patches out of them. They aren't the same as 75-79's but they would probably be close enough (with a little finessing) to cut patches out of. Other than that, your only other option would be wheelhouses from a donor car or NOS if you could find them.
Thanks Novanut77! Buying the outer wheel houses from any earlier model is a great idea! You would have the basic shape of the lip and with a little fabrication and cutting I bet I could get them to work. I'm gonna check if Bumper & Auto sells them.

I wish the aftermarket would start making more parts for these cars! They are becoming more popular. My car is a rust bucket, but I always have people looking and asking about it.

·