Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
857 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
I was wondering how you guy who have hydrolic lifter's adjust your valves?I do not like the adjust while eng. is running.That is so messy.is there any other way to adjust them.I am not sure but are they bled down if it is not running?I have a comp 270 magnum cam and the spring's,lifters to match.It is in a 400sb. :chev:

·
Registered
176 Posts
Proper way to adjust lifters

Hi Guys, It's been a couple of decades since I adjusted lifters so I seek your help. First off, I am new to the car and don't know if it has hydraulic or solid lifters. The seller was no help as he was just turning the car for cash. How can I determine if they are solid or hydraulic and then what would be the proper way to adjust each? Oh, it's a 402. Thanks as always, Marc

·
Premium Member
758 Posts
The way that you could tell if it was solid of hydraulic is to remove the valve cover and try to wiggle the rockers. If 2 or 3 wiggle fairly freely (with minimal effort), the ones that are not underpressure from the push rods, it is a solid lifter. The solids usually need 15-25 thousandths gap when not engagued (depending on manufacturer, mine Comp cams 294S is 22 thousandths)

Hydraulics if you try to wiggle the rockers they might move but they will not wiggle (flop) very easily or at all.

To adjust hydraulics you have first set zero lash and to do this you can lift, wiggle, spin the pushrod on the rocker (that is not being engagued). Then you start tightening the nut until the push rod just stops FREELY spinning. Then you give the nut about 1/4 - 1/2 extra turn.

To get them dead on after doing this, If you are not afraid of a bit of oil splash the easiest way is to start engine and let it idle. Then loosten 1 nut at a time until it starts to make a bit of noise. Then retighten until the noise just dissapears and give it 1/4 to 1/2 extra turn.

Good luck

·
Premium Member
758 Posts