Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Checking on You Tube for suggestions on the best oil filters, for high performance oil filters. What's everyone's favorite, and why?

·
Registered
66 Posts
I am not positive, but think the Napa Gold is made by Wix.

Anyone can clarify ??

I have been using the Napa filter for many years with no issues.
Correct! Napa Gold is made by Wix.

For street Wix/Napa Gold and for Race the Wix Racing series (also offered by Napa)

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Correct! Napa Gold is made by Wix.

For street Wix/Napa Gold and for Race the Wix Racing series (also offered by Napa)
I USED to run the WIX racing filters, but was a little nervous at their 61 micron rating. I know its flow restriction that it is trying to help, but 61 microns= .0025 so that is a big piece that will get into a bearing clearance. I switched to Moroso which is 28 microns = .0011. I figured the smaller pieces would flow through the clearances easier with less chance of damage. I have heard of other engine builders sticking with the standard WIX filters at 21 or so microns on race engines.

·
Registered
Mike - 74 Nova Baltimore, MD
1,659 Posts
For my small block Chevy, I use the NAPA Gold 1061 (I believe this is the same filter as the Wix 51061). This is the larger/taller filter that holds more oil then the standard filter.

The reason I use this filter is my research has shown that many others have also recommended the NAPA Gold and Wix oil filters.

·
Registered
130 Posts
For any type of race application I only use the System 1. It is a take apart filter with a stainless micron filter. It's great to be able to tell if anything is going wrong in the engine by just pulling the lid off the filter and inspecting it.

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
No race use here.
More like "flogged grocery gitter".

I run Wix / NAPA Gold*.