Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just finished building my 69 nova, it has a sbc 406 with a th-400 in it. I recently went to the track and it was not what I wanted. I am thinking about going to the powerglide because that's what most racers have. So I wanted to know what the experienced people knew since I am new to drag racing. My car is about 75% drag and 25% street. Here is my engine build specs:
4 bolt sbc 406
dart iron eagles 230 runners 2.08 int 1.60
1.65 roller rockers
625 billet solid roller cam
6 inch forged rods
scat 9000 forged crank
heads studs
proform 750 double pump
all msd electronics
3500 stall tq converter.
411 posi

All help would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
508 Posts
i think with the powerglide you will slow down unless you are running a power adder. (n2o,turbo,blower) the th400 has a lower first gear so your 60' will be alot beter. and the end gear is 1-1 with both. you might gain alittle mph with a glide but will run slower as ET goes. i think youe combo could use some more carb. a 750 isnt enough for a well biult 406. i went from a biult 800 to a 950 HP holley and gained 50+ HP right out the box. with a little tuning im up to 77 HP over my 800 cfm dp.

·
Registered
152 Posts
dude you put a powerglide in that car you WILL BE FASTER you dont need a power adder the powerglide uses way less horsepower to turn get a 181 first gear in the power glide and a 5000 to 5500 stall and you will be amazed. i picked up a lot of et and mph on a n/a small block in a 72 nove hell i got 1.41 60 foots leaving at 3500 on the trans brake..yes its worth it.

·
Registered
1974 chevy. Ova
1,179 Posts
I recently went to the track and it was not what I wanted.