Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to chase down a tuning problem I have with my 355. This is my first build and I have very little knowledge when it comes to carbs. My car is running super rich and I've tried adjusting the mixture screws but its doesn't seem to change. After talking to a few different people a common answer is i need to change my power valve. Will a stock power valve with that cam cause my running rich. I'm pulling about 10 to 12 lbs of vacuum. So I'm thinking a 5.5 or 6.5 valve. I know alot of people run that cam so I was hoping I could find out what other people are running. thanks.

·
Registered
290 Posts
Popwer valve

I dont think your power valve is making you run rich i had that cam in my 357 sml blk it took a 3.5 power valve you have to go half of the the reading so a 6.5 or 7 would b a 3 or 3.5.try jeting down some and when you adjust mixture make sure trottle blades are not open much, general rule for mixture screw all the way in till engine almost cuts off then out 1 and a half to two turns outward till you get your best idle when you check vac have car in gear. I dont think its your power valve, a power valve is designed to prevent a lean condition, the cam you have needs a lower power valve try this if it dont help pm me and we can go from there, ive rebuilt and sold lots of holleys on craigs list and no complaints good luck...

·
Registered
682 Posts
I don't think this is a power valve issue either. You mentioned that turning the mixture screws isn't making any difference in how the engine is running, and this should not be the case. You should be able to get the engine to stall out by turning those screws in all the way.