Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,488 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
question has anyone on here ever done or seen someone overlap about 2 inches of old quarter with new quarter panel then tack weld all the way around then use body filler to get the exact curve you want? someone has appeared to do this to mine and i wanted to see if this is ok or should i cut it out and replace with new rear quarters. the persons body work held up just fine where this was done. sorry i'm new to this so i thought i would ask first :eek::eek::eek:

·
Premium Member
2,614 Posts
question has anyone on here ever done or seen someone overlap about 2 inches of old quarter with new quarter panel then tack weld all the way around then use body filler to get the exact curve you want? someone has appeared to do this to mine and i wanted to see if this is ok or should i cut it out and replace with new rear quarters. the persons body work held up just fine where this was done. sorry i'm new to this so i thought i would ask first :eek::eek::eek:
An overlap is one way...easier, faster than a butt weld but must be welded completely...not tacked...surprising the filler hasn't cracked... It's your call whether you can live with it as is...if it's a driver....leave it.

·
Premium Member
4,488 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah its a driver :yes: no Barrett Jackson car here:no: when i meant tack i was talking about tacking it all the way around until the tacks were all touching if you know what i mean i think its called "stitch" welding:eek::eek::confused::eek:

·
5,145 Posts
There is nothing wrong with that panel replacement method.
If you have iot down to the bare metal I would use All Metal or Metal 2 Metal as the first coat over the welds instead of regular filler.
Corrosion protection on the baskside is required (as with any weld method)
Prime, seal and paint the back or at the very least clean and undercoat.

·
Premium Member
771 Posts