Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,365 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was driving in the Nova yesterday to a car show, doing about 70 on the freeway and the temp was running about 185* which is normal. As I exited the freeway the temp started creeping up. After about 1 mile it got up to 220*:eek:

On the drive home it seemed fine, but then after about 5 miles it started doing the same thing. as long as i'm moving it's o.k. As soon as I slow down or stop is whem the temp starts to go up

I have a mild 383 with the Summit universal radiator, Derale 17" fan with a shroud, fan comes on at 180*, off at 170*, Edelbrock water pump, and a 180* thermostat and a 16# cap.

I've been running this cooling set-up for a while (9 months) with no issues at all.

Does this sound like a bad thermostat or a bad water pump?

·
Registered
39 Posts
If it only seams to heat up when movement is slow, it would seam to be more of a fan issue. Lack of air flow.

If the water pump or thermostat was not working, it would always be hot.

·
14,584 Posts
Is the radiator full? How about the shroud? Is the fan placed properly in the shroud? The fan blades should only stick about 1/2 way into the shroud. Are the sides of the shroud sealed off?

·
Premium Member
6,365 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Is the radiator full? How about the shroud? Is the fan placed properly in the shroud? The fan blades should only stick about 1/2 way into the shroud. Are the sides of the shroud sealed off?
Radiator is full

Electric fan mounted on a 66RICH shroud

Put a pressure tester on the cap and on the radiator to see if theres a small pin hole.
That was the first I checked after checking the coolant level.

The thing that has me puzzled is, I drove it last weekend and it was fine. I probably have about 1000 trouble free miles on the radiator/shroud/fan set-up. This just kind of popped up all of the sudden. I'm gonna check everything over again and make sure I'm not missing something simple.

·