Chevy Nova Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have newly rebuilt 350 bored 60 over and it is overheating I think it is the timing but I'm not sure, what should I set the timing at, it also has no power at all, is there a reason for that ,everyone tells me it should be fast but I can't even spin a tire. I also just upgraded to bigger jets and smaller metering rods but it did nothing. the tune is set at 14 afr at idel , its a newly rebuilt 350 bored 60 over brand new aluminum 4 core radiator with 2 electric 16 inch fans and a shroud that was made for the fans. Thank you for your time and thank you for any responses

Registered
I am not an expert...however, since it's a new build, you might want to check if your rocker arms were properly adjusted. If I recall correctly, back each nut off until the rocker arm/valve starts tapping, then tighten slowly just until it stops tapping, and then, I think (not sure) tighten it one full turn. I believe one full turn sets the push rod in to the right location in the lifter. If I'm wrong, someone please correct me and provide correct information. I know if not properly adjusted, the motor just runs like crap...no power and sluggish...
Let us know what happens and what the solution ends up being.

Registered
I believe one full turn sets the push rod in to the right location in the lifter.
It may, and it may also result in valves not closing fully. 1/2 turn is usually the "rule of thumb", that will get most most stock or mild build motors in the ball park.