Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7,257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
When I was a freshman in highschool, my dad and I were working on his '75 Nova. While searching for parts, I came across this '78. Base model, bench seat, six cylinder, th350, 7.5 with 2.56 gears. The fender was a little beat up and it needed quarters, but I brought it home for a $110 bid. I immediately swapped in a 283. Drove the car for a few years in highschool (daily, including the winter).

I blew up the 283. Put in a 307. Blew up the 307. Put in a pretty nice 350 that Paul Wright and DriveWFO helped out on. Blew up the 350. Put a forged rotating assembly in. Blew up the 355 (it's now in my garage, awaiting tear down). I found this junker 350 in another parts nova. Good oil pressure, good compression, scoots pretty good. We'll see what it runs in the quarter mile in the spring with the junk motor. I'm getting about 15 mpg daily driving it again. It hasn't broke in 2 months, so I'm pretty pumped.

It's showing 8 years left in the snow, but it's still a nice 10 footer. I almost sold it a few times, but it's worth it now.

Currently:

Stock 350 with junk, low compression, small valve heads.
RV camshaft
Holley 600 VS
Mallory HEI
Hooker 1 5/8's
2 1/2" exhaust

Racecar parts:
Electric fan
Aluminum rad
Battery in trunk
Fuel Cell
3.73 Posi 8.5 10 Bolt
Subframe connectors
Trick Springs
90/10 shocks
SSM lift bars

I'll put the good heads, 750 DP, a big cam and the 3" bullets back on when I'm ready to race again.

Kev

·
Premium Member
13,309 Posts
way ta go Kev... just keep pluggin away..... are ya sure ya want to tear in to this engine?:rolleyes:

AAHhhhh heck... BLS-3?

BY the way.. Cool color choice...... cant believe you daily drive it in the winter... Hoooo the Horror, The Horror....

·
Registered
7,257 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)