Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just starting to prep my Nova and am a total noob with any body work. Today I started on the hood: Sanded all the old paint off down to bare metal; wiped it down with MEK; Used ppg DP50LF cut 2:1 withDP402LF just like the tech sheet said; shot it thru a deVilbis Finishline with the 1.5 orifice (just guessing at what size to use); and it isn't a flat as I had expected it to be. :( This is a nice way of describing ORANGE PEEL!!:eek:

My questions:
1. Does primer/sealer just not get very flat??? Somehow I doubt this is true...:rolleyes:
2. It was warm today (maybe 90F) -- did I use too much catalyst? I noticed that it seemed to dry pretty quick; by the time I had cleaned up all the bugs were happily dancing across it without sticking!!:D
3. The gun calls for 23 psi at the handle. When I set it at that there isn't enough pressure to spray. I dialed it up to almost 40 psi static (without spraying...it drops to zero when I pull the trigger anyway) before it sprayed. At that point it looked to these unsophisticated eyes like it was cooking right along.
4. I tried to keep the gun about 4" away from the surface. Is that too close? ... too far??

On the other hand.......now that dingy old hood has a nice light gray coat of primer and (from a distance) looks great!!:D

Thanks for your advice!!

Dave

·
Registered
3,484 Posts
I won't pretend to be a body man, but I do know that the faster the paint dries the more orange peel you will get. So i think maybe you need a slower reducer.

Also, from what i have gathered I think 10 to 12 inches away from the surface with the gun is preferred.

You are a brave man, good luck! :)

Andy (doing the dirty work on mine, gonna let a pro do the skill work)

·
Registered
1,545 Posts