Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, just saying in advance I'm a Mustang Guy. ( not sorry :) )
But I just had the opportunity to buy a rust-free 72 Nova SS with everything there ( as far as I know )
It seems to have a bunch of NOS trim too. So I'm going out of my comfort zone into something I'm not familiar with.
I do restoration work but have no idea how to decipher GM. If you wouldn't mind helping me out figuring out the Trim tag.
Also, these cars seem to have a vinyl top which I personally am not a fan of, but would it detract from selling it if I didn't put it on or should I make it original?
The car I think was White, should I keep it white? if so please tell me I should put stripes on it so it's not so plain. what stipes do you recommend?
I doubt the steering wheel is correct, any thoughts?

Thanks!!

·
Registered
810 Posts
Hello and welcome to the site!
I'm no expert on Trim Tags... but there are a lot of knowledgeable members here that might be able to help you out. Looks like you have a decent project car to start work on. Please keep us posted on your progress.

·
Registered
2,052 Posts
Welcome to the site. The trim tag should be deciferable if you google search something like “72 nova trim tag decode” you should be able to find the information.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks! it seems i have to strip down the tag, its pretty illegible but did get some info from it.
does anyone know if the steering wheel looks original? for some reason it looks like the ones from the 1980's

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
i just took a steering wheel like that off my nova an put on an original 66 steering wheel. but the one i took off had SS in the center.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Thanks! it seems i have to strip down the tag, its pretty illegible but did get some info from it.
does anyone know if the steering wheel looks original? for some reason it looks like the ones from the 1980's