Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
'70 nova 2 door

I'm completely new to muscle car restoration. I do some simple part swaps on my every day vehicles when something breaks, but I don't have a lot of know-how. I'm learning as I go.

I thought the nova I purchased had all the wiring done, but that isn't the case. I would like to have a go at this myself, but I have zero experience with automotive electrical. With that being the case should I just suck it up and take it to someone or could I possibly pull it off without screwing up anything important? I've got some youtube videos queued up and it looks relatively dummy proof. My concern isn't so much the placement/connecting wires as it is knowing what gauge to run and which wires to connect to which and what ties it all together (does everything run to the back of the dash?).

The following need to be wired up: brakes, reverse, four side markers, rear speakers (not sure about kick panel speakers) tag light (if that's a thing on this model) and interior light.

Follow up questions:

Did the '70 use the same bulb sockets for both brake light and reverse light? I can't seem to find a dedicated reverse light socket.

I see that you can purchase rear wire harnesses, but those seem surprisingly expensive to be no more than a set of wires. Is a self run wiring job just as good as a harness if done correctly?

Heat shrink or crimp for a better connection? How do you know where to use a male/female connection?

Thanks, any help is appreciated!

·
Registered
343 Posts
Electrical