Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings fellow Novites,

I recently purchased a 1970 Nova that is on a truck coming from Canada. It has the original drivetrain and I would like to remove it for safekeeping. I'm a self taught mechanic and a bucket list item is driving behind an engine that I rebuilt. So my question is a simple and complex one. I would like to build a budget-ish 350. Where is a good place to start? Junk yards? What book would you recommend? What specialty tools are most helpful? Help me Obi Nova Kanobi. You're my only hope!

Darin

·
Registered
129 Posts
These two are a couple of good places to start....the second and third especially if you are into mid-level cost budget performance.
Difference between second linked book and third linked is the second book is an earlier, out-fo-print edition...but it has more flat tappet cam performance info, the later version most of the info and build recipe's are hydro roller cam....so if budget is tighter, you want the earlier book for that info. Later book is more up-to-date on available aftermarket heads tho'.

The performance books don't have any torque specs or procedure info tho', like the first link, they are figuring you already know your way around that part of it.

John Baechtel 's book is also very good, covers use and prep of a lot of stock parts and procedures and performance stuff too.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the references! I've been reading some about vortec heads and curious if the books are new enough and detailed enough to suggest combinations that are proven to work.

·
Registered
402 Posts
Check YouTube (I know, I know). But there is a guy on there with the handle myvintageiron. He has a complete series on rebuilding a 350 chevy. From finding a good core to firing it up and breaking in the cam. I would highly suggest watching that series. He is/was an instructor at UTI from what I put together.

·