Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1971 Nova
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.

New owner of a beautiful 1971 Nova. The seller could not provide any significant details about the restoration so I'm learning about the car little by little. I have no experience with these cars so owning one should prove to be an adventure.

What I think I know:
Paint looks good with no obvious signs of significant rust. Interior is fair but needs some work.

Factory V8 engine: I don’t know anything about the current V8. I believe it is a 350 small block crate engine or rebuilt. I don’t know how to get that information. It has aluminum heads with a Victor Jr. intake, Holly 4-barrel carburetor, and a HEI distributor.

Factory automatic converted to a 4-speed manual transmission: The manual transmission appears to be a 1963 Muncie based on the casting numbers with Patent Pending. I assume it has been refurbished but don’t know. The Hurst shifter also appears to be an early 1960’s based on its markings. The shifter handle is bolted, so I think it is an aftermarket shifter. There is a small leak at the reverse linkage arm.

Factory air conditioning: The evaporator and associated tubing and electrical have been removed but part of the evaporator housing remains. The condenser is still in place but the tubing is cut. I’m not sure if I should restore the factory AC or remove what is left and just keep the heater components.

10 Bolt rear with disc brakes up front and drum in the rear. Air shocks in the rear. They seem to hold air but the car sits lower on the driver side.

Steering has some play but also feels hypersensitive to me.

The wiring is an absolute mess. I’m thinking about ordering the American Autowire Classic Upgrade Kit and installing it over the winter.

I will have many questions but the first is which manual should I purchase? I see factory assembly manuals, repair manuals, service manuals, etc. Thanks!

·
Registered
65 Super Sport
253 Posts