Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, welp im the new owner of a 73 Nova SS and boy do I have some work ahead of me thanks to James:) . This is my first project and have never put a car together before. Took Automotive 1,2 and 3 in highschool but that isnt going to help me much here at all. I will post pics as soon as I can. But until then there isnt a lot of body work that needs to be done. The body is straight and primer grey. Interior is stripped out, no motor or tranny. Tell you the truth, Im not sure of where to start:confused: ! I really want to learn how to do this but just dont have much knowledge about it. I want to do most of the work that I can to save money and what I cant do I have my neighbor that I trust he can do the rest. Assembly Manuel would help me out a lot right now, especially with the interior. Advice or suggestions would be very much appreciated!

·
Premium Member
2,921 Posts
welcome to the site! sounds like a good procject car. ive never had a 73-74 nova so not sure what help i can be. good look and look forward to pics and updates!

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
This is what she looks like at the moment

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
If you have the space to work on it, finish the paint. Body looks pretty straight in the photos, but run a magnet over the normally rusty areas to check for bondo. If you don't care that much and are on a budget, try to strike a deal with a local shop for a paint job. Have them paint the door, trunk and hood jambs too. Then look for a good parts car and start swapping stuff over.

Just make sure the hood and fenders are correct for 73-4 and pre-fit all body parts before you have them painted.

Just my $.02. :)

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #6