Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to forms, so hopefully I'll figure out how to know when I receive a comment and how to comment back.

I have a 1963 Chevy II, 4-dr sedan, automatic with 194CI. Bought it in March 2017 with 21,400 miles, had the original bias ply tires and original brake pads.
Before picking it up I had a local Chevy dealership mechanic check it over and change fluids, replaced radiator, install new radial tires, install Pertronic ignition. I tried to prepare it for a drive.
After picking up the car and leaving town to drive to Tacoma WA, 50 miles out of town, stripped multiple teeth on the fiber timing gear. Then towed back to town.
3 days later with a new aluminum cam gear and steel crank gear installed headed back out of town towards Tacoma.
2300 miles later arrived in Tacoma. Added 1 quart of oil at that 2300 mile mark. I was very happy on the oil usage. But, the car didn't idle quite right but did OK on the highway
The car is now home. I rebuilt the carb, a single barrel Rochester, it did need it considerable crude in it. That helped on starting and the car now idles nicely if vacuum advance is unhooked and plugged. But the engine hesitates when giving fairly quick throttle and with vacuum advance hooked up I get a fairly even 'popping' from the exhaust. Idles better with no vacuum advance hooked in.

When timing, this engine times on #5 cylinder. This has me baffled and I'm wondering how or why it is this way. Using a vacuum gauge only to time, hooked at the base of the carb just above the intake manifold, I get 21" plus of very steady vacuum when idling. When I then use the timing light to check, the timing mark is right in the 6 to 12 degree BTDC range. So things seem to all be good. I currently have it timed at 7 BTDC.

BUT, why is this engine timing on #5 cylinder and I'm also not sure why I get hesitation when giving throttle? Something to do with the new timing gears?