Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

This is Mojan from Fremont CA. I owned a 70 MG Midget and right now I have a 64 VW bug that I’m selling it. I’m not a mechanic but I take care of my cars. Now I’m tired of driving manual and I like to buy a automatic Nova. I have been searching on Craigslist ... here is what I have found so far which is close to me. What you think? Is it hard and costly If I want to bring the car to the original hight? Please give your recommendations.
https://sfbay.craigslist.org/eby/cto/d/el-cerrito-1963-nova/6806460867.html

Keep in mind that I like stock cars.

·
Registered
2,811 Posts
welcome to the nova site. its a nice looking 63. my self id just drive it the heighth it is at, its only 2'' lower. it does still have the 4 lug drums still an with 13'' wheels that makes it a bit hard for tires. the body looks real good an thats the hardest thing to fix. i also like those early 60's VW's.

·
Registered
5,200 Posts
Welcome Mojan. Looks good in pictures but would check it out closely for hidden rust. I would ask the owner if he saved the factory parts when he lowered it. If he did it would just be a matter of swapping them out.

·
Registered
4,002 Posts
:waving:Welcome from Wisconsin! :horse: Pics?

·
Super Moderator
3,879 Posts
Welcome.

You're up on a great site with a lot of experienced Nova guys. Glad you asked the question.

Just my opinion, I'd wait, especially if you are not mechanically inclined. There have been a number of very stock, original Novas that have come up recently that have been good buys. Not to say that car isn't, but why not get one closer to stock, if that's what you want, right from the start?