Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone - I'm new to the classic car/hotrod community so excuse my lack of knowledge when I'm posting questions. Hoping ya'll can help me narrow down my options for the following upgrades:

1) Currently have a manual rack and pinion setup -->I'm going to be doing more city driving than anything else so I'm looking to convert to a power rack and pinion..also exploring other options (EPS). Please let me know of any suggestions for upgrading this steering to more of a daily driver type setup.

2) A/C-->No AC installed at the moment..living in Dallas I kinda need that so I've been looking at Vintage and some others..I don't need blasting cold AC, I just need something to get me through the summertime. I've been getting quotes from local shops here in Dallas, but parts/labor rates seem to range quite a bit..any advice here would be appreciated!

3) Wiring -->Still have the original box/wiring. Looking to install dakota gauges, but I have a feeling the wiring isn't going to support it. I'm trying to avoid doing a full/complete wireharness kit..maybe just something to support the dash/gauges? Any info is appreciated here as well

4) Brakes -->currently has disk brakes on all 4, but no power :( I hate to admit it but the drivers in Dallas are sub-par at their finest, so I'd like to reduce the risk of fender benders with some type of upgrade here..cheapest solution preferred

Those are my top 4 items on the list at this point. Any info you can provide is much appreciated. If any of you know a good/reliable mechanic in the Dallas/Ft Worth area, please let me know! Cheers!!

Attachments

·
Registered
4,671 Posts
Hi bolingky

and, WELCOME to SNS

plus, I was Born in Dallas & grew up in Garland through the 50-60-70
and, work in Dallas, Plano, & Richardson ( my 1st wife was from Richardson. That's how I ended up-in Arizona (my in-laws, lived here).