Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
452 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey everyone, i'm mike and i'm an alcoholic...oh wait, wrong place. haha. i just bought a '69 nova. it's a plain jane. originally had a straight 6 with a 3 speed manual column shift. the previous owner converted it to a floor shift and dropped a 350 in it...but then removed the motor for another project and left this one parked behund some dumpsters where he works(dumpster rental place). so my neighbor told me about it randomly in a conversation last week. big mistake. haha. as soon as he said it, i was scheming on buying it and building it. i've been itching for another muscle car for a few years. between the ages of 17 and 25 i had 3 second gen camaro's, a '71 chevelle, and a second gen firebird. when gas prices were climbing and the firebird was falling apart as fast as i could fix it, i sold it and bought a jeep, which i'm still driving. it's a horrible daily driver though, because i caught the bug with that too and couldn't stop moddifying it. then i got bored with breaking parts and getting stuck in the mud, and got the itch for a fast car again. that brings us back to the present. me at 30, about to go pick up my new nova. i think i'm going to drop another 350 in it. honestly though, i don't know much about nova's so i'm curious about that 3 speed trans. is it sturdy enough to run a mildly built 350 or should i just spring for a muncie 4 speed replacement asap? eventually i'd like to put a 396 in it with the muncie behind it, but the budget doesn't allow for that yet, so whatever 350 i can scrounge together will be it for now. thanks in advance for anyone's input.

-mike

·
Premium Member
31,194 Posts
hey everyone, i'm mike and i'm an alcoholic...oh wait, wrong place.

-mike
Not really, you be saying you're a Nova alcoholic soon enough! I have a plane jane 69 too, well except for the SS and BB!:rolleyes::devil: Welcome to the site, Mike!

·
Premium Member
452 Posts