Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,
I have a new engine coming for my 66 and had some questions as I am relatively new to swapping engines.
I pulled the old engine last weekend. I have a small bunch of wires coming through the firewall near where the steering column come through and was wondering if anyone knows what they are? I know a couple of them went to sensors on the old engine and I one of them is probably from the ingnition.
What I am looking for is what wires I need to keep and which I dont. I want to rewire the ones that I should keep as once they go through the firewall it is sort of a mess with splices everwhere.
The new engine will have a Holley Sniper if this makes a differance.
Thanks to all who can help me out,
Trevin

·
Vendor
1,313 Posts
I would strongly suggest buying GM shop manual and wiring diagram booklet for your year, since you are new to this. There are two main harnesses that come out of the firewall - the engine feed and the light. There are also sub harnesses for things like the wiper motor.

The light harness is the bigger one and goes along the driver's inner fender. You will want basically everything in there, but will likely need to make modifications. It feeds the lights, alternator, horns, etc.

The engine feed goes to the starter, coil and various motor sensors. The pink coil power wire is a resistive wire, not full 12 volts, good to be aware of that. I have never installed one of these systems, so no idea what in this harness you would retain.

All of these harnesses are reproduced and American made. So if your wiring is totally trashed you may want to start new. Possibly with a wiring upgrade kit like from American Auto Wire.

·
Registered
702 Posts