Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a small block 406 with a 180 thermostat and a Be cool 22.5 inch radiator. I have heat issues when car idles for 5+ mins. I was thinking of installing an electric fan to cure this.

Since I have a Be Cool radiator, I called the folks over at Be Cool and asked what they recommend.

The following kit is what is recommended for my setup.

http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?part=BCI-95001

This fan kit comes with temp sensor and fan and spins about 2300 rpms. They say this should do the trick. I can’t go with a dual fan setup because radiator is too small. They also recommended a 160 thermostat. Wondering if going to a 160 thermostat would be an issue for my radiator?

$339 seems a little high, but then again I am no expert on electric fan kits.

Are there any better performing solutions that anyone else can recommend that are cheaper or the same price as this one? Possibly higher rpm or cfm fan in the same footprint. Also if 160 thermostats would help, can anyone recommend a specific brand? Supposedly Hi-Performance ones have a feature where if they fail, the fail in the OPEN position.

Regards,

Greg

·
Registered
1,989 Posts