Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, newbie here. Here is the story.

I got a '70 Nova that was an original 6 cylinder, but was switched out with a sb 350 but kept the powerglide that went with it. Rear is a 2.73 10 bolt. Drove great until the day the prior owner he parked it. In 1993. Decided to drive his trucks instead and left it in his field in Texas. I got this info a few weeks after I got the car through an intermediatary so I am sure it is solid.

Zoom forward to 2009, yours truly finally gets the Nova he wanted to work on for years but distractions like wife, job, and children get in the way of what's important. I don't have a garage, because I converted it to offices for me and the missus, but I am in the military so I can use the car garages and tools they have on post for gentlemen who see the value of fingerbowls prior to eating. I would like to get it running so I could drive it there and back, maybe store it there for longer term things like engine rebuild etc. limited storage space.

The goal is to have a '70 SS 350 clone (I perfer tribute). I am not religious on orginality, so things can be modern so long as the look vintage. One thing though, no computer chips, don't ask me why, they just seem obscene to me.

I am currently in Iraq for another 5 months, so while I give my sons some minor assignments I can study auto mechanics while I am here. I think something else is going on over here as well, either that or the neighbors make a lot of noise at night.

Here is the question: What parts should I try to keep/test? I am trying to get it running first. Should I clean/change the fuel tank/lines, change the fluids, and a battery and cross my fingers? Or do all that and fuel pump, water pump, starter, radiator, hoses, check electrical circuits and then go for it?