Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
please keep in mind i am new at this.anyway,i bought a 73 nova ss clone that
the paint was old and wanted a new paint job.the car had no rust or,bondo at
all with very straight lines.i took the car to a local restoration shop and got an
estimate of $3500 to repaint the car.when i got the car back it has alot of what looks like paint blisters,fish eyes,orange peel effect on several areas of
the car as well as several places that looks as though the sander got down in
the metal and gives it a chicken scratch appearance.the shop said that is what you get for $3500.1st does this sound right to anyone or,am i just being
too picky and secondly the restoration shop put in the contract they would
use 1 coat of primer,2 coats of base,and 2 coats of clear.is there any way to
determine if in fact product promised was actually applied?the car also has a
few tiny spots that you can see the bare metal.your opinions are greatly
appreciated.

·
Registered
122 Posts
While 3500 won't buy you a show quality paint job. It should get you a pretty nice job considering there was no bodywork involved. There should in no way be any fisheyes, blisters, runs or any other serious paint defects. The only way to really tell what they put on is to sand down through the finish. You can grab a rag and some rubbing compound and see if the color comes off on the rag. If so its single stage and not base/clear. Does the contract say anythings about these problems?

·
Premium Member
2,102 Posts