Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have read many articles regarding mono versus multi-leaf springs. I have a 70 Nova that has mono's. Its a street car. I just want a smooth ride.

Can anyone offer their advice?

·
Premium Member
11,072 Posts
With the Calvert Split-Mono leaf springs my car rides very nice as long as the Cal-Tracs have no pre-load. If you don't intend to do any racing, the springs along with a decent pair of shocks should work well without the bars.

·
Registered
329 Posts
I have read many articles regarding mono versus multi-leaf springs. I have a 70 Nova that has mono's. Its a street car. I just want a smooth ride.

Can anyone offer their advice?
Mono's are probably cheaper but are easier to wrap if you have a lot of torque.

Multi's are stiffer

but I'm a pro-turing guy so too stiff isn't something I know of.

Just remember the mono are easier to "compress" then multis, but it's the rebound setting on the shock that will more likely make a smoother ride.

Or just always drive on smooth roads

·
Registered
2,146 Posts
if you want a mushy ride run monos. I had monos in my 70 and switched to multis and new monroe gas matics and the thing rode so nice. Not too stiff and not mushy at all.

·
Premium Member
3,819 Posts
Mono's work just fine, unless they break. That single leaf spring is all that holds the rearend in place.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the response.

If I were to use multi's are there any modifications? Also did the multi's raise the rear end?

My car has a low stance at the moment and may be because of spring sag. I would like to keep it with a low stance.

·
Registered
309 Posts
well on 68-74's I thought multi leafs were considered the poor mans traction bar also only one of the leafs hold the rear in as well

·
Registered
329 Posts
Thanks for the response.