Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to replace my master cylinder and booster. I have factory front discs but I’d like to swap the rear drums to discs either now or later on. Im confused as to what bore size I need, 1” or 1.125”

Help! Lol

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
I went through the same confusion when I did the rear disc conversion on my car. I'm no expert, but here's what I discovered:

Cars with factory front discs had the 1.125" bore MC. The Corvette (and I *think*) all-drum cars had the 1" bore. My understanding is that the smaller the bore, the more "punch" the brakes have. The Corvette got the smaller bore because it was a sports car, despite having 4-wheel discs. The all-drum cars got the 1" bore because they needed the extra umph.

So what happens if you go with a 1" bore when converting to all discs? I went with the 1" bore because it was the only size available with the hardware I chose and, in my experience, I couldn't tell any difference. The only caveat here is that I hadn't driven the Nova in so many years, and I was so used to driving modern cars with better brakes that maybe it really does stop better with the 1" bore. But I don't think there's much difference, if any, and I wouldn't expect you to have any trouble if you go with 1" bore. In fact, I'd probably recommend it.

Just remember that you have to change out the proportioning valve for an all-disc setup no matter what size MC bore you go with, but this is no big deal.

·
Registered
1,618 Posts
I don’t have power brakes. I do have 4 wheel disc brakes. Wilwood 6 piston calipers up front and stock Ford Explorer calipers in the rear. I run a wilwood 7/8” bore master cylinder. Brake pedal feels great. Stops on a dime...

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #4