Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I've been doing some research and was wondering if it was bettter to go LS1 or 3 or a LQ4? I'm wanting to make over 500 hp. From what I have read so far, is that for your money you can make 500 hp on a LQ4 fairly cheap. So far I have found a LQ4 for 1200 with full wiring and computer. The LS's are going for 2000 to 2500. So is it worth to pay the extra for the LS or will the LQ4 be better? I'm new to all of this, so any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanx

·
Registered
711 Posts
Ok I've been doing some research and was wondering if it was bettter to go LS1 or 3 or a LQ4? I'm wanting to make over 500 hp. From what I have read so far, is that for your money you can make 500 hp on a LQ4 fairly cheap. So far I have found a LQ4 for 1200 with full wiring and computer. The LS's are going for 2000 to 2500. So is it worth to pay the extra for the LS or will the LQ4 be better? I'm new to all of this, so any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanx
I am in the middle of my LQ4 build. I paid 1200 for the complete engine,wiring, Comp and 4l80e trans. The LQ4 is the same same as the LS2 just an iron block. I have read the same as you that the iron block is easier to make big HP for little money.

Good luck with your build

·
Vendor
7,085 Posts
LQ4/9 is a great foundation for an LS build.LQ4 is a little down on compression but can be made up with a 243 head swap.LS3 has better flowing heads

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The guy at the wrecking yard said there is 317 heads on the block and the block has 148k miles on it. Would this be worth it for 1200? How much do you think it would cost me just to rebuild and get the 500 plus Hp? I was also thinking of putting a supercharger on it. I have 7000 in my budget for a engine build.

·
Vendor
7,085 Posts